Scroll to top



CLIO Awards


Entries open on the 4 th of  February 

CLIO Mission
Our mission is to honor the groundbreaking work and talent that push the boundaries of creativity.

Everything we do is fueled by our passion for celebrating the power of creativity, provoking action and nurturing your vision.

As the standard bearer for visionary communications, we award those creators whose work exemplifies inventive thinking.

Celebrating Inspiration. Honoring Imagination. Fostering Creativity. This is the very essence of the CLIO Awards.

About Us
The CLIO Awards is the world’s most recognized international awards competition for advertising, design, interactive and communications. CLIO maintains its original commitment to celebrate and reward creative excellence, while continuing to evolve with the industry to acknowledge the most current, breakthrough work. On May 15, 2013, the 54th Annual CLIO Awards will honor the best of the year’s work with a Winner’s Gallery and Awards Ceremony at the American Museum of Natural History.

The CLIO Awards honors work in a broad range of media types including, but not limited to:

  • Content & Contact
  • Branded Entertainment & Content
  • Digital & Mobile
  • Direct
  • Engagement
  • Film
  • Print
  • Design
  • Audio
  • Public Relations
  • Out of Home
  • Innovative Media
  • Integrated Campaign

In addition to honoring specific work, CLIO also bestows its annual Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of outstanding and ongoing contribution by an individual who leads the industry forward, as well as Network, Agency, Production Company and Advertiser of the Year awards. Honorary CLIO awards will be presented to two individuals in recognition of their distinguished bodies of work and creative contributions to their respective industries.

In 2013, CLIO will present its inaugural Brand Icon award to a globally recognized brand that has demonstrated their ability to create impactful connections with consumers while leaving behind meaningful messages.

Each year, the CLIO Awards appoints top creatives from around the world to ten distinct CLIO Juries. Juries are comprised of individuals whose own work epitomizes the vanguard in their respective fields, thus ensuring that each juror has a profound understanding of the global market’s ever-evolving dynamics and industry innovations.

CLIO’s judging process is known for its democratic and nonpolitical approach to recognizing creative excellence. Fewer than 10% of submissions survive the first round to make the CLIO Shortlist, from which juries re-evaluate the work to determine Gold, Silver and Bronze statue winners. Less than 3% of all entries receive a statue, and less than 1% receive the coveted Gold CLIO. Each jury also has the option of awarding CLIO’s highest honor, the Grand CLIO, to one truly exceptional piece of work in each medium from the chosen Gold statue winners.

Our History
Founded by Wallace A. Ross in 1959, the program’s name originates in Greek mythology, where CLIO was the muse of history, the recorder of great deeds, the proclaimer and celebrator of accomplishments, and a source of inspiration and genius. Originally conceived to honor American advertising, the CLIO Awards expanded in 1965 to include international work and today receives more than 10,000 entries annually, 65% of which come from outside the US.